Derby Grammar School’s Prefects for the academic year 2018-19 have been announced. We are delighted to welcome Elliot Butterworth in to the role of Head Prefect, supported by Sam Cochrane as his Deputy.

Sixteen Prefect positions have been filled by eighteen Year 12 pupils. They begin in their roles immediately, so that the 2017-18 Prefects can concentrate on their preparations for their upcoming A-Level examinations. One of the first tasks for the new Prefects will be to serve the meal at the Year 13 leavers dinner on 11 May.

Elliot said: “It was a little nerve-wracking when I found out I was to be Head Prefect, but I feel really honored to serve school through the appointment.

It’s an important role and I’m looking forward to making school as well adapted to every individual member as it can be, so that everyone can enjoy, learn and achieve their potential.”

Mrs Bramall, Head of Sixth Form, added: “A Prefect is an excellent role model for all pupils. I welcome all of our new Prefects into their roles and look forward to seeing how they develop their roles over the coming year. I also thank the outgoing Prefects for their hard work and contributions over the past twelve months. Their contribution to school-life has been excellent.”

2018-19 Prefects


Prefect Pupil
Head Prefect Elliot Butterworth
Deputy Head Prefect Sam Cochrane
Senior Prefect (Tours) Matthew Simpson
Senior Prefect (Duties) Freya Lockley
Atkinson House Captain Max Morley
Bemrose House Captain Tom Cochrane
Blackton House Captain Lewis Hamilton
Derby House Captain Lewis Sibbering
Junior School Freddie Lamb
Music Prefect Sam Veitch
Drama Prefect Georgina Millband
Sport Prefect Ethan Ross
Charities Prefect Abigail Davies
Duke of Edinburgh’s Award Prefect Noah Magill
Sixth Form Prefects Paul Phipps & Gianluca Sanghera
Old Derbeians Prefects Daniel Holloway & Panayiotis Zannetou