We welcomed our first Head, Roger Waller, back to school today to present certificates in an assembly dedicated to celebrating student success.

Mr Waller opened Derby Grammar School back in 1995 with just 26 pupils. It has certainly grown since then!

We awarded GCSE certificates to our pupils from last summer’s examinations. Their achievements have placed us top of this years’ GCSE league table for schools in Derbyshire, with 89% achieving Grade 5 or above in Maths and English.

As well as pupils who took their exams in Year 11, we awarded Jasgobind Singh Virk his certificate for achieving an A* in GCSE Punjabi, Owen Walters his certificate for achieving Grade 9 in Maths and Robert Zalivskis for achieving a B in Russian. All took their GCSEs whilst in Year 9.

We also awarded Duke of Edinburgh’s Award Bronze certificates to eight pupils, and congratulated two pupils, Freya Lockley and Billy Agsakal for achieving their Gold awards. They will receive their certificates and badges in a celebratory event for Gold winners in London later this year.

Year 7, 8 and 9 pupils were awarded their Commendation certificates, in recognition of excellent work and effort in their lessons. And finally Mr Waller presented our Gold and Bronze winners from the British Physics Olympiad Round 1 competition with their certificates, Elliot Butterworth and Paul Phipps.

Elliot’s Gold Top 50 award signifies him as being one of the top 5% of UK-wide entrants. Paul’s Bronze I award, places him as one of the top 13% of entrants.


Year Level Pupil
Year 7 Bronze Joseph Justice
Chester Penny
Silver Karum Dosanjh
Oliver Genders
Nathaniel Proctor
Gold Will Flear
Year 8 Bronze Awais Ali
Lucas Brandon
Sebastien Craven
Daniel Davies
William Hollick
Taran Rai
Silver Jia Huang
Sajid Oleolo
Aditya Rai
Amrit Rangi
Gold Andreas Serghi
Year 9 Silver Alfie Carter

Duke of Edinburgh’s Award


  • James Hallam
  • Ben Greenwell
  • Haidar Iqbal
  • Manveer Kalirai
  • Ben Masterson
  • Tharundev Murugan
  • Amaan Rashid
  • Vinay Tank


  • Billy Agsakal
  • Freya Lockley