Dr Norris welcomed everyone back to school today at the first assembly of the summer term. The focus was on achievement and we congratulated those achieving commendations, colours and welcomed our new 2019-20 Prefect team.

Commendations are awarded for meeting and exceeding targets and for recognition of excellent work and service to the school. Sports colours are awarded for commitment to training, ability and sportsmanship. Congratulations to all of our pupils receiving their awards this morning.

Before the 2019-20 Prefect Team was announced the outgoing 2018-19 team was invited on to stage. Dr Norris thanked them for their effort and commitment to their roles, their commitment to the school and for being positive role models and ambassadors for the school.

Miss Stebbings then announced the new Prefects who step in to their roles with immediate effect. Our Senior Prefect team this year comprises Head Prefect Toby Ganley and Deputy Head Prefect, Varchas Swamy. They will be assisted by Senior Prefects James Neiland and Fraser Heatlie.

Dr Norris said: “You have big shoes to fill but I have every confidence you will do a fantastic job in your new roles.”


Role Student
Head Prefect, with additional responsibility for sport Toby Ganley
Deputy Head Prefect Varchas Swamy
Senior Prefect Fraser Heatlie
James Neiland
Atkinson – House Captain Amar Bains
Bemrose – House Captain Jacob Davies
Blackton – House Captain Jasneal Mudhar
Derby – House Captain Dylan Rangi
PTA Amrit Dhillon
Duke of Edinburgh’s Award Navnit Rana
Music Teja Saladi
Drama Rhea Chitkara
Old Derbeian Tharundev Murugan
Junior School Tommy Goldsmith
Vinay Tank


Level Pupil
Bronze Jeona Shergill
Jayden Meakin
James S
Leo Silverwood
George Hilliam
Robert Thompson
Silver Caleb Greer
Harrison Green
Gold Oliver Genders
Rohail Moazzam

Sports Colours

Level Pupil
Full Colours Lewis Hamilton
Toby Ganley
Freddie Lamb
Half Colours Huzzy Muhammad
Noah Magill
Tom Cochrane
Will Selby
Junior Colours George Hilliam
Adrian Diaz Blanco
Jeffrey Baker
Oliver Cooke